About researchobject.org

This website captures the activities of the Research Object community. It is maintained by Carole Goble’s group eScience Lab at the University of Manchester.

The main focus of Research Object development is now on Research Object Crate (RO-Crate), a community-led effort co-chaired by Peter Sefton (University of Technology Sydney) and Stian Soiland-Reyes (eScience Lab, The University of Manchester).

You may suggest edits to these pages at https://github.com/ResearchObject/ResearchObject.github.io/


Current collaborations include:


The RO-Crate community calls are held every month, and anyone is welcome to join.

You may also subscribe to the mailing list public-rosc.


researchobject.org is a continuation of work done in the Wf4Ever project (2010–2013), which built on the early ideas and prototypes of myExperiment packs.

The Wf4Ever project formalized the RO model, RO REST APIs, serializations RO-Bundle and corresponding implementations.

The W3C Community Group Research Object for Scholarly Communication Community Group was started in 2013.

Following Wf4Ever, later developments include ROHub, bagit-ro, BDBag, CWLProv.

In 2018, the first Workshop on Research Objects (RO2018) was held, and conversations started on combining the principles of Research Object with Peter Sefton’s suggestion of DataCrate, initially called RO-Lite.

In March 2019, the first RO-Crate community calls started, chaired by Eoghan Ó Carragáin and focusing on building a metadata specification for describing and packaging research data. RO-Crate 1.0 was released in November 2019.

For further details, see RO-Crate background and RO-Crate community, as well as Research Object publications.

RO-Crate team (2018–)

The RO-Crate team includes (as of 2020-07):

Alumni (2009–2018)

Many researchers and developers were part of the formation of Research Object ideas and the development of the RO Model, including:

  • Alan Williams
  • Carole Goble
  • Catarina Martins
  • Daniel Garijo
  • Danius Michaelides
  • David De Roure
  • David Newman
  • Don Cruickshank
  • Don Cruickshank
  • Eleni Mina
  • Esteban García Cuesta
  • Finn Bacall
  • Graham Klyne
  • Iain Buchan
  • Ian Dunlop
  • Jiten Bhagat
  • John Ainsworth
  • José Manuel Gómez-Pérez
  • Jun Zhao
  • Khalid Belhajjame
  • Kristina Hettne
  • Mark Delderfield
  • Mark Robinson
  • Matt Gamble
  • Michael R Crusoe
  • Norman Morrison
  • Oscar Corcho
  • Paolo Missier
  • Phillip Couch
  • Raul Palma
  • Sean Bechhofer
  • Shoaib Sufi
  • Stian Soiland-Reyes
  • Stuart Owen


We are grateful for the advice and support from:

  • Christine Borgman, UCLA
  • Michel Dumontier, Stanford University
  • Scott Edmunds, GigaScience
  • Paul Groth, Vrijie University
  • Brian Hole, Ubiquity Press
  • Paolo Manghi, ISTI of Consiglio Nazionale delle Ricerche
  • Brian Matthew, STFC
  • Paolo Missier, Newcastle University
  • Susanna Sansone, Oxford University/Nature Publishing
  • Herbert Van de Sompel, LANL
  • Kaitlin Thaney, Mozilla Science
  • Mark Wilkinson, UPM
  • Katy Wolstencroft, Leiden University